

Radio East Gippsland Inc. A0019340K. ABN 38 619 032 565 PO Box 963, Bairnsdale Vic 3875 radio@regfm.com.au +61 3 5152 6255

## Annual General Meeting Minutes

held at Bairnsdale Bowls Club, 26d Grant St, Bairnsdale on Sunday, 27<sup>th</sup> August 2023.

**1. Establishment/Declaration of Quorum:** The Secretary declared that the 26 members physically present constitute a quorum, in accordance with the Constitution, s28.2.

## 2. Attendance:

- 2.1. Physically Present: Jeannette Board, Jim Clement, Suzanne Driscoll Plavins, Glenn Duncan, Hayden Evans, Tony Francis, Ronni Hofer, Helen Hopkinson, Tim Jones, Peter Jones, Elaine Kendall, Pamela Mahlstedt, Deniese Morrison, Mark Norwood, Shirley Petrucelle, Keith Rogers, Rorie Ryan, Frank Saracino, Barbara & Ernie Saunders, Wayne Stagg, Neil Stevenson, Lee Walker, Merrolyn Wiles, Kym & Rose Williams.
- 2.2. Present by Technology: Rosie Adsett, Nick Erby, Lyn Wright
- **2.3. Apologies:** Louise Ankatell, Del Clark, Ray Davis, Dee Overliese, Heather & Mike Richards, Mary Smith.
- **2.4. Proxies:** Proxies for the following members were held in accordance with the Constitution, s34.
  - Paul Buchanan, Laura Cattapan, Carolyn Coverdale, Doug Daymond, Troy Downing, Darryn Frans, Winston Galea, Natalie Griggs, Grace Joiner, Robyn Joiner, Joanne Jorgenson, Richard Kirton, Jack Meredith, Finn Meredith, Deanna Mitchell, Colin Moon, Rob Moon, Joanne Muller, Jan Norwood, Vicki Page, Brian Paragreen, Jennifer Paragreen, Tiffany Paterson, Damian Pratt, Margaret Pratt, Ian Pratt, Annette Rogers, Mary Smith, Anthony Shortte, Craig Wright.
- 3. Opening: The President opened the meeting at 14:00 AEST.
- **4.** Acceptance of Minutes of 2022 AGM: Resolved to accept the minutes of the 2022 AGM as a true and accurate record.
  - **4.1. Business Arising from the Minutes of the 2022 AGM:** Lyn Wright raised the following questions:
    - **4.1.1.** What training has been given to REG staff and volunteers with regard to bullying and harassment? The President explained that this had been discussed at the committee of management and that he was to arrange a Zoom presentation by Employsure. It was agreed that this should be available to all staff and volunteers, and the President undertook to contact Employsure and advise staff and volunteers of the presentation within seven days.
    - **4.1.2.** What is the role of Station Manager/Operations Manager? The President, who is also the Operations Manager, explained that the position was filled by a Committee appointee and the incumbent is charged with maintaining station operations and reports back to the Committee.

- **4.1.3.** Why can't members attend Committee meetings? The Secretary explained that, under the legislation, Committee members are bound by conditions of privacy, the requirement of declaration of conflict of interest, the responsibility not to misuse any information gained in the performance of their duties as a Committee member, etc., and that non-Committee members attending meetings are not bound by the same conditions. He said that members who wished to put something to the committee were free to communicate with the Secretary, who would place such item on the Committee agenda and extend an invitation to them to attend the meeting at which it is to be considered, for the duration of the consideration of that item only.
- **4.1.4.** What sub-committees does the Committee have and how do they report? The Secretary answered that there are currently three sub-committees, being:
  - **4.1.4.1.** Governance, which drafts governance documents such as the Constitution, policies, procedures, etc., and presents them to the Committee for adoption or amendment and subsequent promulgation.
  - **4.1.4.2.** Programming, which concerns itself with the programs presented and the music played.
  - **4.1.4.3.** Technical, which looks after the technical equipment necessary to put programmes to air.
  - Sub-committees operate under Terms of Reference set by the Committee, elect their own chair and minute taker, set up their own schedule of meetings and are required to provide a copy of each meeting's minutes to the Committee Secretary within seven days of the meeting.
- **4.1.5.** Has anything been done to answer the question of "What do members get for their membership?"? Lyn volunteered to edit a periodic newsletter. Her offer was accepted.
- **4.1.6.** Regarding general communications with volunteers, Ronni Hofer proposed a regular meeting of volunteers.
- **5. President's Report:** Resolved to receive the President's Report.
- **6. Annual Financial Report:** Resolved to accept the Financial Report.
- 7. Committee Elections: The following unopposed nominations were received within the required timeframe and, in accordance with the Constitution S16.2, are taken to be elected for a two year term:
  - 7.1. President Peter Jones
  - 7.2. Treasurer Dee Overliese
  - 7.3. Studio Representative Lakes Entrance Pamela Mahlstedt
  - 7.4. Ordinary Members Wayne Stagg
    - In accordance with the Constitution s16.2, nominations to fill the second Ordinary Member position were sought from the members in attendance, Kym Williams and Keith Rogers nominating. A secret ballot was conducted, with Wayne Stagg as the Receiving Officer, and Keith Rogers was announced as elected.
- **8 Appointment of Auditor for 2022-23:** Resolved to reappoint Chris Savige Accounting & Taxation Services Pty Ltd as the auditor for 2023-24.
- 9 Confirmation of Annual Subscription: Resolved to confirm the Annual Subscription at \$20 per member.

[Type here]

10 Close: The President closed the meeting at 15:19 AEST